top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Schirmacher

One Last Week

Today as I stood on the crowded bus coming back home from the city center, it hit me that it would be the last time in a long time. It was the last time taking the bus, the last time walking through the city square, and probably the last time hearing people speak Danish in a long time.


This last week, I had no class and no homework, so it was the perfect time to soak in everything that has happened during this semester. I am so appreciative that DIS gives us this last week off, because without it, I don't think I would've had the time to process everything as well. Rather than scurrying from class to class, or worrying about my next homework assignment, I simply got to relax and take it all in. I walked around the city more, went last minute souvenir shopping, spent time with my host family, and said goodbye to all of the friends I have made throughout this amazing semester.


It is hard to put into words how this last week has felt for me. I am sad, happy, nervous, and excited all at the same time. The ups and downs of leaving behind one life to go back to another is something that I have never experienced before. I am so excited to see my family and friends from home, but it is sad saying goodbye to the life I have made here. I will miss the ease of going anywhere at anytime with public transportation and biking, my amazing polar biology class that helped me realize my true passions, the slow and relaxed pace of life, the heartwarming moments with my host family, hygge everywhere, and lastly, having Eleanor here to snuggle with at night.


This is Eleanor, one of my host family's cats. We have bonded a lot this semester to say the least.



As I sit here packing my bags and stressing about my flight to Chicago tomorrow, I know that this semester has changed me for the better. They say that studying abroad changes you, but I didn't know exactly what that meant until this day. I am more confident, less anxious, and I leave with a perspective of my place in the world that is much different than before. Along with this, I have learned so much about sustainability here and I cannot wait to take this knowledge back to the States. Though I still can't pronounce half of the Danish words I've learned , I feel like Denmark is now a permanent part of me that will live on in my heart forever. I will never forget the kindness of my host family, the beauty that I saw all around Europe, or the unforgettable moments with my friends around Copenhagen.


Tak og vi ses Denmark!



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page